Friday, June 13, 2008

Kane wins rookie of the year

Patrick Kane of the Blackhawks won the NHL's rookie of the year award over teammate Toews and Washington's Backstrom.

This was the right decision to be made. Well Toews had more goals, Kane proved himself to be a better all around player. Backstrom on the other hand lacked the leadership Kane showed, and got to play on a line with league MVP Ovechkin. Some people also considered Montreal's rookie goalie Price for the award, but given the limited number of starts he had in the regular season, and how poorly he did in the playoffs, he didn't really deserve this award.

Congratulations to Patrick Kane. At this point Sabre Nathan Gerbe should be the favorite to win rookie of the year for next season.

No comments: